Thanksgiving the Sequel

Me, playing Mannequin Head Ball

THIS IS AN ESSAY I WROTE FOR SCHOOL:

My parents and their friends made up a holiday called Thanksgiving the Sequel, which is the Saturday after Thanksgiving, with friends.

Why we do Thanksgiving the Sequel is so we can be with friends, not family, or as my dad’s friend Brian puts it, “Thanksgiving the Sequel is with the people we want to be with, not the people we need to be with.” We also do Thanksgiving the Sequel because all of the grandparents live nearby, so the adults don’t know how to cook turkeys, so it is good practice for the adults. Thanksgiving the Sequel is so fun, because it is with the people you want to be with.

We usually do Thanksgiving the Sequel at my house, but sometimes we do it at other people’s houses. I don’t know why it is at my house, but I think it is because we have the supplies and toys and that sort of stuff. Although we did have a fun time at the other person’s house, Thanksgiving the Sequel is exciting wherever we are.

On Thanksgiving the Sequel we do lots of fun things. We play pillowball, which is a game that my dad made up.  It is basically like baseball, except instead of a bat you use a pillow. This year, we are going to try a new game called Mannequin Head Ball that my dad and his friend copied off of a TV show.

I HAVEN’T FINISHED THE THIRD PARAGRAPH OR THE ENDING YET.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving the Sequel

  1. Awesome. I love your family’s tradition! You are going to need to teach Aaron & me the rules of pillow-ball and mannequin head so that we can play it with our friends.

  2. Eliza,
    What a wonderful essay! I read it aloud to Gabe and we both smiled. It sounds as though Thanksgiving the Sequel was lots of fun. I am really looking forward to seeing you in just over a week and River cannot stop talking about his cousin “Le-liza”. See you soon kiddo!

Leave a comment